Kristina Wolfe named Winner of 2016 VQ New Works Competition


Kristina Wolfe, composer of her work Planctus, is the Winner of the 2016 VQ New Works Competition. After an evening celebrating new music at the Jacqueline du Pre Music Building at St. Hilda's College, Oxford University, Kristina's piece was voted by the audience as the winner on 27th May 2016. The prizes of the final, announced by presenter Paul Gambaccini, were in this order:

First Place

Kristina Wolfe - Planctus


Second Place

Ian Munro - String Quartet No. 1 "from an exhibition of Australian woodcuts"


Third Place

Andrew Guo - Fantasy for string quartet